Rookie Smith looking for Toledo checkers; going for 3rd straight GT Pole

CONCORD, N.C. (May 17, 2018) - Fifteen-year-old rookie standout Chandler Smith will make his third career start in the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards Sunday, May 20 in the Menards 200 at Toledo Speedway.

Smith, who drives the No. 20 Smith General Contracting Toyota for Venturini Motorsports, earned back-to-back General Tire Pole Awards in his first two starts at Nashville and Salem, and leads all ARCA drivers with 168 laps-led.

The Talking Rock, Ga. rookie will attempt to add his name to the record books, trying to become the first rookie to earn consecutive pole awards in his first three attempts.

Smith, right on the heels of his teammate Christian Eckes, was running second at Salem on the final lap when he cut down a right-front tire and pounded the turn 1 wall. Eckes went on to claim the win.

"The pole award thing is cool but I'm here to win races," said Smith. "I'm going to Toledo this weekend with one goal in mind. We're off to a strong start but there's a lot more to accomplish. Venturini Motorsports and Toyota continue to give me strong race cars to do my job. I'm having a lot of fun out there.

"Each time out I'm getting more comfortable and learning a ton. At Nashville we were good. And Salem, even better…we led a bunch of laps. Toledo is a fresh start and we're ready. We had a great test this week. I'm excited to get back there and see what we can do."

For more information on Chandler Smith visit or @CSmithRacing26 on Twitter, @CSmithRacing26 on Instagram and MSC Motorsports of Chandler Smith on Facebook.


Over the last 35-years Venturini Motorsports (VMS) has evolved into one of the most recognizable names in professional motorsports. Known for long-time dominance in the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, Venturini Motorsports is held in high regard as one of the premier NASCAR driver development programs in the county. Since 2007, VMS has specialized in the career development of some of today's top racing talent including current NASCAR "Stars" - Joey Logano, Erik Jones, William Byron, Alex Bowman, Ryan Blaney, Darryl 'Bubba' Wallace Jr., Daniel Suarez, Christopher Bell, Justin Allgaier, Noah Gragson, Ben Rhoads, Ryan Reed, Brandon Jones, Matt Tifft, Brennan Poole, Dalton Sargeant, Justin Haley and Todd Gilliland. Integrity, dedication and continuous innovation paired with years of on-track success has helped define Venturini Motorsports as one of the longest tenured teams in all of modern day racing. In 2012, the Venturini racing family was recognized for their collective achievements and inducted into the National Italian American Sports Hall of Fame ( - now finding themselves enshrined with such sports icons as Joe DiMaggio, Mario Andretti, Chip Ganassi, Andy Granatelli, Vince Lombardi, Tommy Lasorda and Rocky Marciano.

Official: | Twitter: @VenturiniMotor | Facebook: Venturini Motorsports