Toledo, Ohio—July 1, 2017: Steve Needles set a torrid pace on his way to victory in Saturday night’s Great Clips 100 at Toledo Speedway for the ARCA Super 6 Gold Cup Late Model Series. Mike Young scored the win in the 50 lap Great Clips 50 lap feature as part of the ARCA Aramark/R & M Recycling Silver Cup Late Model Series, while Kim Hughes notched a popular win in the MCR Dwarf Car main event. Michelle Parsons, representing Great Clips, presented the trophies to the winners.

Just 1 yellow flag slowed the action for the 100 lap contest. Phil Bozell charged into the lead at the start and held the point for the first 24 laps. Fast qualifier Steve Needles (15:293) was on the move and zipped by Phil on lap 25 and set sail. Needles set a tremendous pace and built up a straight-away lead on the field. Bozell dropped out on lap 43 after battling with Harold Fair Jr. for second. The yellow came out to check for fluid on the track, and Needles took off again on the restart on the way to win number 2 at Toledo this season. Harold Fair Jr., Frankie Jiovani, Dennis Strickland and Scott Pemberton completed the top five. Jimmie Ward Jr., Chris Benson, Scott McKenzie, Andy Bozell, Phil Bozell, Tommy O’Leary IV, Nick Bailey and Kevin Stahl Jr. were next in line at the finish.

It appeared that Jim Froling was on his way to victory in the 50 lap ARCA Aramark Late Model Sportsman race, which was also race #2 of the R & M Silver Cup Series for the class. Tommy O’Leary IV, pulling double duty Saturday night, led the first 3 laps until Froling grabbed the lead on the next circuit. Jim had a comfortable lead over Mike Young and Ron Allen as the laps clicked off, but on lap 38, Froling’s engine began sputtering and he darted down pit road, ending his night. Young, the fast qualifier on the night (17:401) now had the lead and Allen was right in his tracks. For the final 12 laps, the duo ran hard, as Allen looked high and low to grab the top spot. Young stayed in command to the checkered flag for the victory over Allen, Howard Kelley Jr., O’Leary IV, Andy Harding, Kent McCloskey, James Potter, Kyle Worley, Craig Osenbaugh, Froling, Landon Schuster and Dan Grigsby. Gerald Wheaton did not start the event.   Allen and Kelley Jr. took the heat wins.

The MCR Dwarf Cars made the trip to Toledo Saturday night, with Kim Hughes taking the checkered flag in a very popular win. The young lady showed patience as she worked her way to the top spot and took the victory over Troy Hoffman, Eric Hoffman, Logan Weigle and Ed Laroe. Dave Brewster, Triston Francis, Jon Wylie, Jeff Slayton and Josh Brand completed the finishing order. Hughes and Weigle took the heat wins, while Troy Hoffman set quick time at 10:776.

The evening concluded with a fantastic fireworks display, much to the delight of the crowd on hand for the Saturday night special at the Glass City oval.

The track now takes a week off and gets ready for a string of 3 Friday night races in a row. It starts Friday, July 14 with $8 admission night! Adult admission will be just $8 as the ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8’s return to Toledo for the Ohio Figure 8 40 lap Championship race, sponsored by Victory Lane Quick Oil Change and PNC Bank. The Monroe News 250 lap Enduro race is also on the card, and the evening concludes with the Boat Figure 8 race! (The Figure 8 Train race originally scheduled for July 14 has been moved to Friday, August 11).

ALL tickets go on sale race day at 6 p.m. at the track. There is no advance or phone order sale for this event. Race time is 7:30 p.m.

More details will follow soon.