Toledo, OH—August 16, 2019: The Lakeshore Utility Trailer Sales-sponsored “Night of Destruction” at Toledo Speedway was filled with the usual thrills, featuring the School Bus Figure 8 race as the grand finale’. Dennis Whisman was declared the winner. Stock Car Racing was also a part of the show, as 2 track championships were decided. Mike Young captured the ARCA Late Model Sportsman crown and Matt Ringger nabbed The Vault Antiques and Treasures ARCA Factory Stock title. All winners visited the Monroe Asphalt Winner’s Circle.

The bus race saw a ton of hard hits and Terry Smith go over on his side. A steady rain shower just before the Boat Figure 8 race made the track very slippery, which made the buses slide when tagged by another bus. Dennis Whisman delivered a hard hit on his son, Dennis Jr., then limped to the finish line to claim the win. Jack Franzil, AJ Padgett, Whisman Jr., Smith, Sam Mills and Stephanie Bradley also were bus racers. Bus sponsors were PB Fabrication, Stevens Disposal, Lakeshore Utility Trailer, Car Wash USA Express, R & M Recycling, Northwest Trailer and Central Avenue Truck.

While Howard Kelley Jr. led every lap, he had pressure the entire time as Greg Stilwell ran door to door for the final 2 laps until Kelley edged out front to take the win in the 30 lap feature for the ARCA Late Model Sportsman championship race. Kelley was out front when Grant Hedges had his steering break in the front stretch, bringing out the yellow and setting up a 2 lap dash between the lead duo. Wheel to wheel they ran as Howard nosed out Greg for the win. Mike Young’s third place run gave him the 2019 track championship. Kenny Sharp, Dan Grigsby, Hedges and Cody Hall trailed. Jimmy Wahl and Tom O’Leary IV scratched from the event. Young set fast time at 16:930. Stilwell was the heat race winner.

Ian Jezylo led the start of the 25 lap The Vault ARCA Factory Stock championship race, until Steve Smith motored by on the outside lane to take the lead on lap 9, holding that spot until Craig Osenbaugh grabbed the lead and sailed to the win. Jeyzlo was second, James Rae third, Smith fourth and Matt Ringger fifth. Matt edged out Craig by 10 markers to win the title. Randy Padgett Jr., Mike Miller, Jesse Carrillo, Jimmy Wahl and Jeff Wells completed the top ten. Osenbaugh and Miller took heat wins, while Smith was fast qualifier at 11:918.

Dennis Whisman Jr. held on as his Dad bumped him through the final turns on the final lap but the youngster held on for the win in the 20 lap ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8 feature race. Jeremy Vanderhoof, Dave Lambert, James Vanderhoof, Ethen Lambert, Stephanie Bradley and Jakob Lee were next in line at the finish.

A thrilling Flag Pole race saw Whisman Sr. and Dave Lambert swap the lead at least 3 times on the final lap. Dennis went low when a lapped car was coming around the tire at the stripe and just beat Dave Lambert for the win. Whisman Jr, Lee, Jezylo, Wells, Miller, Lambert, James Vanderhoof and Bradley followed the lead duo.

AJ Padgett claimed the Boat Figure 8 race over Dave Lambert, Miller, Carrillo, Wells and Ryan Mallory.

Toledo Speedway now goes dark until its final race of the season, the Central Transport Glass City 200 presented by Courtyard by Marriott and Hampton Inn, set for Saturday night, September 21. The track’s signature event will feature both the stock-bodied ARCA/CRA Super Series powered by Jeg’s Late Models and the outlaw-bodied ARCA Late Model Gold Cup Series machines. Both 100 lap races will pay $5000 to the winner. The newly-created CRA Jr. Late Models will compete in a 30 lap main on the ¼ mile track.

Tickets are now on sale, both general admission and reserved, by calling the track at 419-727-1100. Race time is 6:30 p.m. for the final Toledo race of the 2019 season. The rain date is the next day, Sunday, September 22 at 1 p.m.