Toledo, Ohio—August 30, 2017: 2-time track champion and 2009 Glass City race winner Dave Kuhlman will serve as the Grand Marshal for the 29th running of the Central Transport Glass City 200 presented by the Holiday Inn Express, Hampton Inn and Courtyard by Marriott at Toledo Speedway Saturday, September 16.

Kuhlman’s racing resume is filled with wins across Michigan, Ohio and Indiana during his racing career. Dave got his start at the Spartan, MI Speedway, where he first ventured from his hometown of Howell, MI. The #24 showed up at Flat Rock Speedway later in his career where Dave would put up some amazing statistics—4 track titles, 40 feature wins (second to only Joy Fair) and a string of fast time awards.

Kuhlman eventually began to venture out to other race tracks, and, just as he had done at Flat Rock, became a threat to win every time out. The 1998 Iceman championship, the 2006 ARCA Late Model crown and 22 features wins stands out on his Toledo stats. The Glass City 200 win remained elusive for Dave, but the quest ended with a victory in 2009.

The race team for the #24 was a family affair, along with some close friends. Dave’s parents, Ward and Maxine, his sister, Linda and brother-in-law, Bill Schneider, kept things assisted Dave each season.

Kuhlman will be honored in pre-race ceremonies for the 200 Saturday, September 16. All past Glass City 200 winners have also been invited to the race and will be introduced to the crowd.

The 200 has a new 1-day race format and 2 divisions of Late Models in competition for the 2017 edition of the prestigious race.

Both groups of Late Models will run 100 lap features, with each race paying $5000 to win and $800 to start. The total purse exceeds $60,000. The outlaw-bodied Late Models and the ARCA/CRA Super Series powered by Jeg’s stock-bodied Late Models will each battle in main events on the fast ½ mile paved oval.

The outlaw 100 lap event will also be the final point race for the Sweet Manufacturing Outlaw Super Late Model Series, which is made up of 6 races in 3 states. The $20,000 point fund will award $2000 to the champion.

Several entries have arrived this week. Johnny Belott, the first entry for the outlaw Late Model 100, will be joined by 2013 Glass City winner Dennis Strickland, Indiana driver Brent Jack and former Toledo and Flat Rock champ Joe Hawes.

A provisional starting spot will be added for the Sweet Series for the outlaw portion of the 200. And, DTS Drive Train Specialists has posted five-$50 product/service certificates in a random draw for the event. Penske Shocks will award a $250 product certificate to the winner.

Friday, September 15 rig parking, tire sales, pit pass sales and tech for the outlaw-bodied Late Models will take place from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. There will be no on-track action.

Race day begins with the pit gates opening at 10 a.m. Practice will go from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. on a rotating basis for the 2 groups for a total of 90 minutes each. Qualifying will begin at 5 p.m., with the outlaw-bodied Late Models shooting for the $500 Passtime Fast Qualifier bonus, while the ARCA/CRA cars will run for the $500 PlayZone of Toledo fast time bonus. An on-track autograph session will take place at 6 and racing begins at 7 p.m.

A rain date of Sunday, September 17 at 1 p.m. has been established.

Fans can save $5 on advance ticket purchases for both general admission and reserved. The advance sale ends at 5 p.m. Friday, September 15.

Additional sponsors for the Central Transport Glass City 200 include R & M Recycling, Bazell Race Fuels, Sunoco Race Fuels, First Care Ambulance, DTS Drive Train Specialists and Cassens Transport.