Toledo, OH—July 14, 2017: Dennis Whisman zipped to the win in the 40 lap ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change/PNC Bank Ohio Figure 8 Championship Friday night at Toledo Speedway.   Jimmy Tucker grabbed top honors in the Monroe News 250 lap Enduro race, while Cory McCaughey sailed to the Boat Figure 8 victory on $8 admission night. The speedway hosted members of the military and scouts as guests of the track Friday. The Michigan Auto Racing Fan Club honored Tommy O’Leary IV in pre-race ceremonies. Tommy received a helmet bag from the club.

Randy Roberts jumped into the lead on the start of the 40 lap Figure 8 contest and stayed there for 3 laps, until Dennis Whisman motored by for the lead. Dennis ran strong out front and had company from Gary Cronenwett as the laps clicked off. With 4 laps to go, Cronenwett had the driveshaft come apart in his car, ending the night for the #05. Whisman grabbed the win over Dan Apperson, Joe Vanderhoof, Dennis Whisman Jr., Scott Apperson, Randy Roberts, Travis Earley, Ethen Lambert, Cronenwett, Dave Lambert, Eugene Worden and James Vanderhoof.

The Monroe News 250 lap Enduro race saw Jesse Carrillo lead laps 1-11. Cory McCaughey took charge of the race on lap 12 and stayed up front until mechanical issues forced him to retire for the evening. That gave the lead to Jimmy Tucker on lap 28 and the defending Monroe News Enduro Series champ built up a big lead and led the rest of the way. 3 red flags stopped the action. The first red came out on lap 114 when Troy Brehmer had an engine let go. The second red flag was displayed on lap 196 when the hood flew off Tommy O’Leary IV’s machine and the final red came out with just 3 laps to go when Tony Rumble lost a wheel. Through it all, Tucker took the win over fast qualifier Robb Remick (11:954), Matt Ringger, Tommy O’Leary IV, Derrick Sheppard, Jimmy Gullett, Kyle Metdepenningen, Nathan Sprotberry, Cody Remick and David Rumble. 22 cars started the contest and 14 took the checkered flag.

A wild Boat Figure 8 race saw Cory McCaughey survive as the boats went flying on the very first lap. Ryan Mallory was first out, parked up by the backstretch on the track, usually a safe place. But a boat came off a trailer and slammed into the front end of Ryan’s machine. All was ok, as the crowd roared with laughter. Dave Lambert, Jacob Thomas, Ethen Lambert and Mallory trailed the winner.

Toledo Speedway has 2 open-wheel spectaculars up next on its July schedule, beginning with the Midwest swing of the Royal Purple Synthetic Oil King of the Wing Sprint Car Shootout presented by Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Parts Stores Friday evening July 21. The NSTA Top Speed Modified Tour will also be in action next Friday night.

The following Friday, July 28, the USAC Silver Crown Cars return to the Glass City oval for the Rollie Beale Classic 100, sponsored by Hemelgarn Racing and Super Fitness.

Fans can save $5 for each of the events with an advance ticket purchase. All seating is general admission. Tickets may be purchased by phone by calling the track office at 419-727-1100, visiting the track office or by downloading the ticket order form at www.toledospeedway.com.   Most major credit cards are accepted for orders.

Friday, July 21 has practice beginning at 5, time trials at 6:30 and racing at 7:30 p.m. The July 28 time schedule shows practice at 4:30, time trials at 6:15 and racing at 7:30 p.m. The spectator gates will open just before the start of practice each of the 2 Friday nights.