Toledo, Ohio—November 6, 2015:   Race teams, officials, family and friends gathered Friday evening at the Crystal Gardens Banquet Center in Southgate, MI for the annual Flat Rock and Toledo Speedways Awards Banquet.  Each of the champions received their championship jackets and banners from ARCA President and Flat Rock/Toledo owner and promoter Ron Drager.  Over $35,000 in cash and contingency awards were paid out at the annual event.

Flat Rock’s ARCA Moran Chevrolet Late Models were presented their point fund checks and trophies from Moran Chevrolet representative Dick Barker.  Justin Schroeder claimed his first Flat Rock Late Model crown at the ¼ mile paved oval.  Justin and his father, car owner Mike Schroeder, accepted the championship trophies and a check for $1500 from Moran Chevrolet.  2014 champ Steve Cronenwett Jr. was second in the final points, with Dennis Strickland, Derek Wiley, Craig Everage and Stan Yee Jr. (tied for 5th), Paul Pelletier, Corey Duane, Frank Jiovani and Joe Hawes completing the top 10.  Corey Duane was named Rookie of the Year.  Track photographer Rand Thompson presented Strickland with a photo of his car, signed by his competitors and track officials, in recognition of his retirement from weekly racing.

Second generation driver Billy Earley captured the Flat Rock ARCA Praxair Figure 8 title, the 2nd in his career.  Earley, who finished just 15 markers back to 2014 champ Jeremy Miller last year, thanked his family and sponsors in his acceptance speech.  Robbie Loving took second spot, just 5 points shy of Earley’s total.  Miller, Dennis Whisman, Greg Studt, Parker Wade, Randy Roberts, Dennis Whisman Jr., Race Loving and David Katafiasz were next in line in the final top 10.  Whisman Jr. captured the Rookie of the Year award.

The ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock class saw Landon Schuster notch his first Flat Rock title in a great battle with Scott Selmi.  The duo were separated by just 5 points. Third spot went to Tim Moore, fourth to Nick Shanks and Kyle Worley rounded out the top 5 in the final point tally.  Rob Moore, Ray Morneau Jr., Craig Lange, Chris Diovardi and Don Roberts were next in line to complete the top 10.  14-year old Windsor, Ontario driver Morneau Jr. was named the Rookie of the Year for the class.  Schuster also took home a $500 product certificate, courtesy of AR Bodies. 

Kevin Stahl Jr. and Kevin Stahl Sr. presented Don Roberts with a chassis for winning the Stahl Fabrication Hard Charger Award, which awarded points for each position gained from starting spot to finishing spot in the Street Stock A Main events at the track.

Jeffrey Kurzyniec, another second-generation driver, captured the DTS Drive Train Specialists ARCA Street Stock B Main crown.  James Pankow, Adam Jezylo, William Lauria and Wilburn Parks trailed the champion.

The Monroe News Enduro Series feature a total of five-250 lap events in 2015, including the first-ever event at Toledo.  Robb Remick, who shared the 2014 title with Rick Bennett, edged out Rick by 30 points to wrap up the 2015 championship.  Dave Zewicky of the Monroe News was on hand for the trophy presentations. Jeff Braun, Jacob Thomas, Troy Brehmer, David Rumble, Matt Ringger, Derrick Sheppard, Paul Martel and Jimmy Gullett were next in line for the top 10 point men.


The Toledo awards began with the Royal Truck and Trailer Glass City Gold Cup ARCA Late Models.  The 6-race Series championship, comprised of a race at Sandusky, OH Speedway, 2 races at Flat Rock and 3 at Toledo, saw Constantine, MI driver Jeff Ganus grab the title.   The newly-crowned champion scored a victory at each of the 3 tracks, collecting the $1000 first place check.  Jeff, making the 4 hour trip to Southgate for the banquet, thanked car owner Brian Short, who was also in attendance.  Dennis Strickland was the runner-up in the Series, followed by Scott Pemberton, Dakota Carlson and Frank Jiovani (tied for 4th place), Nick Bailey, Harold Fair Jr., Terry Senneker Jr., Scott Hantz and Steve Cronenwett Jr.

Jeremy Vanderhoof sailed to his 4th Praxair Figure 8 title at Toledo.  Jeremy was attending a family commitment and was not able to be at the banquet.  Dennis Whisman, Race Loving, Scott Apperson, Robbie Loving, Dennis Whisman Jr., Randy Roberts, Archie Padgett, David Katafiasz and Jeremy Miller trailed the champ.  14 year old Whisman Jr. captured the Rookie of the Year award, giving him that honor for both tracks in 2015

The Toledo ARCA Aramark Uniform Services Late Model Sportsman division crowned a champion for the first time as Mike Young edged out Jim Froling for his initial title.  Ron Allen, Greg Stilwell, Kenny McKay Jr., Chad Stilwell, Andy Harding, Dan Grigsby, Tommy O’Leary and David Hinojosa rounded out the top 10.  Young also received a $500 product certificate from AR Bodies for his title.  Mike Paccarella and Greg Oberle of Aramark doled out the trophies and point fund checks.

The Toledo ARCA R & M Recycling X Car division crown saw Greg Studt take the title over Dennis Whisman, Craig Osenbaugh, Matt Ringger, Tommy O’Leary IV, Mike Miller, Nolan Padgett, Archie Padgett, Kyle Worley and Dennis Whisman Jr.  A surprised Mike Miller was named the Rookie of the Year.

Chad Stilwell and Greg Stilwell (Late Model Sportsman) and Craig Lange and Tim Moore (Street Stocks) took home $500 product certificates in a random draw, courtesy of 5 Star RaceCar Bodies, while Rob More won the random draw $500 product certificate from AR Bodies.

A bonus program posted by Corrigan Race Fuels at Flat Rock and Bazell Race Fuels at Toledo awarded cash bonuses to the top Sunoco Race fuel purchasers for the season.  Greg Stilwell, Chad Stilwell, Archie Padgett, Randy Roberts, Dusty Brunt and Dennis Whisman were the Toledo recipients, while Rob Moore, Scott Selmi, David Katafiasz, Jacob Lee, Guy Fire and Bryan Richards collected the Flat Rock bonus money. 

Point fund and contingency award sponsors for 2015 included Moran Chevrolet, Praxair, Aramark Uniform Services, Royal Truck and Trailer, Stahl Fabrication, ARCA, AR Bodies, B & H Race Parts, DTS Drive Train Specialists, Five Star RaceCar Bodies, Hoosier Tire, Penske Shocks, R & M Recycling,  Bazell Race Fuels, Corrigan Race Fuels and Sunoco Race Fuels.

The winter office for both tracks may be contacted by calling Toledo at 419-727-1100.  The 2016 schedules will be released around the holiday season.  Always check the official websites at www.flatrockspeedway.com, www.toledospeedway.com or www.arcaracing.com.

Ron Drager

Congratulations to all the champions, and thanks to everybody who comes out to support Toledo Speedway.