Ann Yee Named Grand Marshal for Moran Chevrolet-Stan Yee Memorial

Ann Yee Named Grand Marshal for Moran Chevrolet-Stan Yee Memorial

FLAT ROCK, MI: (6-26-09): Ann Yee, widow of Stan Yee Sr., will serve as the Grand Marshal for the Moran Chevrolet-Stan Yee Memorial 150 Saturday evening at Flat Rock Speedway. A total of 41 Late Models have pre-entered for the 150 lap contest, the biggest race of the season at the track.

Ann still helps out at the family business, Yee's Collision in East Detroit, now known as Eastpointe.  Her son, Stan Jr., has operated the business on a daily basis for several years since his father and mother retired.  Stan Sr., a car owner and builder for over 40 years, passed away in May of 2008.   Ann will greet the starting field during driver introductions and will give the command to start the engines, along with Moran Chevrolet boss Pat Moran.

Saturday night will also be a night of historic note as many of Yee's former drivers will be in attendance to pay homage to Stan Sr.  Joe Ruttman will compete as a teammate to Stan Yee Jr. this Saturday night.   Danny Byrd, Artie Sommers, Harold Cook, Chuck Roumell and Joy Fair have indicated they will be at Flat Rock for the event.  Marv Parenteau, one of Yee's first drivers, cannot attend due to prior commitments.  Rick Sheppard and Steve Lee, 2 more of Yee's drivers, will be busy tending to the race as Sheppard attempts to make the 24 car field and Lee will be prepping his son Eric's car for the night.  Steve was the 1995 Flat Rock champ, at the wheel of Yee's #33.

The 150 lap all-green flag race will pay $2533 to win and $533 to start, with the 33 in honor of Stan Yee Sr.'s #33 cars.  Stan, a car builder and owner for over 40 years, passed away in 2008.  Diamond Racing Products has posted a $333 bonus for fast time, while an additional $333 will go to the leader of lap 33.  A total purse of over $25,000 has been posted for the event.

Past winners of the Moran Chevrolet 150 at Flat Rock include Bill Steinhilber (1996, 1997, 1998, 2000); Rick Knowles (1999); Dave Kuhlman (2001, 2002, 2003); Eric Lee (2004, 2007); Harold Fair Jr. (2005); Paul Pelletier (2006) and defending race winner Justin Schroeder (2008).

The pit area opens at 1:30, practice begins at 3, time trials are set for 5 and racing begins at 7 p.m.

New comments can no longer be posted.